don't get a job

🌕 My Golden Nuggets This Week

📚 Book: Freedom From The Known by Jiddu Krishnamurti (Audiobook)

📜 Quote:

Obsessed without being occupied with obsession

🎧 Music: regardless if you are religious, I find this beautiful to listen to

💡 Tip: maybe use this feature more often

Don't Get A Job

“Slavery was never abolished, 
It was only extended to include all the colors.” 
~ Charles Bukowski

Should you avoid having a job?
Are you trapped in wage slavery if you have one?

I do not want to convince you to quit your current job.
Nor do I want to convince you to not get a job.

I’m simply sharing the truth I’ve found for myself in regards to work and money.

By the way, I am Jordan, 23 yrs old.
I worked for years for one of the largest corporate companies in my country, but I also did over $4M in Revenue and hired over 50 people for my own business.

I share this because you have been conditioned to care about numbers and appearance.

But I am a conditioned individual like you. 
I am not ‘better’ than you. 
I have not understood all the false beliefs of my mind yet. 
I may have made some realizations that are absolutely true. 
But never ‘believe’ me. 
As beliefs will always be beliefs. 

So if you are serious, question the words as you read.

Why do you have a job?

I can’t answer this for you.

Why do most people have a job?
Money, right?

So let’s talk about THAT.

MONEY.

What is the truth about money?

Steve Jobs once said:

"Being the richest man in the cemetery doesn't matter to me.”

My question to you:

Are you occupied by money?

The idea of money.

How often do you think about money?
Every hour?
Every lunchbreak?

The world is asking you to think about money.
Are you succumbing to it?

If you are…

Why are you occupied with this idea of ‘money’?

Are you poor? 
And feel the natural need to survive?

Even if you are poor, you do not need to be occupied with money from morning till night, right?

When you look at the rich, they are also occupied with money. 
Afraid of losing it.
Busy making more of it.

I do not say that money is bad.
I am just sharing the truth.

IF you are thinking about money, you cannot SEE.

And isn’t the peace of a quiet mind more important than one filled with shallow thoughts?

You are unserious if you believe me.
You are serious if you ask yourself.

I say shallow thoughts, because money is shallow, isn’t it?

How many cars do you need to feel happy?
How big does your house needs to be to feel content?
How nice should your clothes be in order to feel confident?

Do you evaluate money according to what you need or to what you desire?

It is a form of unintelligence to be pushed into pursuing money.

How to live intelligently?

To place a limit on your needs.

How to do what you would like to do if money was no object?

To place yourself in a situation where you don't need much.
To place a limit on your needs.
Not so they grow with your income.

So what do you really need?

Food
Water
Clothes
Shelter

Find out for yourself, so you may become detached from money.
So your brain can have some quietness, rest, space…finally.

But, but, what about the future?

Where do you see yourself in 3-5 years?

The good old question that most employers ask.
The sad truth is that most don’t know.
That most don’t ask.
That most don’t want to find out.
And thus end up where the world takes them.

This is true. But do you see this?
It is vital to see this.

If you start driving with a destination unknown.
You end up where the roads take you until your car stops working.
So will you waste your gasoline?
Or use it to arrive?

Are there jobs out there where you do NOT feel like you are wasting your time?
Are there people who are working a job they would continue to do even if they did not get paid for it?

Yes.

Those people and jobs are out there.
Not many.
I mean look around you…

But it is possible.
And it is a possibility for YOU.

Tom Waits once said:

"My kids are starting to notice I'm a little different from the other dads.
 "Why don't you have a straight job like everyone else?" they asked me the other day.

I told them this story:

In the forest, there was a crooked tree and a straight tree. 
Every day, the straight tree would say to the crooked tree, 
"Look at me...I'm tall, and I'm straight, and I'm handsome. 
Look at you...you're all crooked and bent over. No one wants to look at you." .
And they grew up in that forest together. 

And then one day the loggers came, and they saw the crooked tree and the straight tree, and they said, "Just cut the straight trees and leave the rest." 

So the loggers turned all the straight trees into lumber and toothpicks and paper. 

And the crooked tree is still there, growing stronger and stranger every day."

So are you willing to appear as strange in this world in order to REALLY live?

THIS is my question to you.
Do you dare to question it?

We started with a quote from Charles Bukowski and end with it.

“To not have entirely wasted one's life seems to be a worthy accomplishment, if only for myself”
~ Charles Bukowski

So by all means find a job where you do not feel like you’re wasting your life.

But if you do feel like you are wasting your time for this piece of paper that you only want more of for external reasons, then you may ask yourself some honest questions.

Self-Honesty is your only savior. 
Self-Honesty helps you find it. 
What you are chosen to do. 
Your true calling in life. 
Your birthright. 
Your mastery.

May you find it before you run out of gasoline my friend.

Talk soon.

Jordan

Only the serious person may check the show notes.
And to the unserious, here’s my poem about the essence of it all.
Because you love to be entertained & distracted while NOT asking yourself the important questions, don’t you?

a grave of a wage slave (a poem)

Why do we work every day?
It's for money, you would say.
To buy more stuff along the way.

We're all caught in this money game,
Working jobs that bring no flame.

We trade our lives for fancy things,
Cars, big houses, diamond rings.

But our souls are empty, our minds a mess,
Caught up in all this money stress.

Don't let the world decide your fate,
Wake up before it is too late.
Before you reach heaven's gate.

Cause being rich in the grave,
Will be the only result of a wage slave.

Reply

or to participate.